How to Modify Connection Settings in Firefox

Mozilla Firefox is a Web browser used to surf the World Wide Web. It can connect to the Internet so that users can view content published online. Firefox uses connection settings to dictate how it connects to the Internet.

Users can change the connections to use a proxy server. A proxy server can be either a program or a machine used to connect to the Internet anonymously. This means that users can forward their request for a connection to the proxy server so that their IP address will not be detected.

Connection settings can also depend on the Internet service provider used. If the user is connecting to the Internet through a network, the connection settings also need to be changed.

You can change the connection settings for version 3 of the Firefox browser this way. (Some of the steps may not apply to lower versions of the program):

You must access your connection settings first.

 

 

How to Access the Firefox Connection Settings on a Windows Computer

 

  1. Launch the Firefox program.
  2. Click on the Tools menu located at the top of the program window.
  3. Click on the Options link from the drop down list.
  4. Select the Advanced tab then the Network tab. Click on the Settings button.

 

How to Access the Firefox Connection Settings on a Mac Computer

 

  1. Launch the Firefox program.
  2. Click on the menu link from the toolbar.
  3. Click on the Preferences link from the drop down list.
  4. Select the Advanced tab. Click on the Settings button.

 

Connection Settings Options

 

Once you have clicked on the Settings button, a menu will open. There are four options listed:

· no proxy (the option to take if you will be connecting directly to the Internet);

· auto-detect proxy settings for this network (to be used when connecting to a network);

· manual proxy configuration (for more advanced users to change the settings individually); and

· automatic proxy configuration URL (for those using a website as a proxy server).

Once you have selected the option you want, make the necessary changes. After changing the setting, click the Ok button to save or click Cancel to cancel the process.